This desk and room might not be mine, but sometimes it does feel as though this is what's in my head.

This desk and room might not be mine, but sometimes it does feel as though this is what’s in my head.

  1. Write for myself and no one else.
  2. Compare myself to no one.
  3. Write what I’d like to read.
  4. Write the story only I could write.
  5. Some writing sessions are better than others.
  6. Take the time to enjoy the creation, because the creation is the whole point, potentially the only point.
  7. Taking breaks during writing sessions isn’t a bad thing.
  8. Reading and writing are the two sides of the same coin – one can’t happen without the other (well, to be sure, I can’t write my own stories without reading the stories other people write).
  9. I’m not writing a book; I’m telling a story.
  10. Simply being in the writing-room and writing, even if the writing is utter rubbish, is 70% of the task.
  11. When in doubt, play and dream – enjoy it.
  12. Be gentle with myself.
  13. Just keep going.
